Welcome To AlbumLinerNotes.com
"The #1 Archive of Liner Notes in the World"

Your Subtitle text
Everybody Knows This Is

To download this recording via iTunes, click here: Neil Young - Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
To buy this recording from Amazon.com, click here:
Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere

Neil Young with Crazy Horse
Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere



1. Cinnamon Girl 2:58

2. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere

3. Round & Round (It Won't Be Long) 5:49
Cotillion Music, Inc./Springalo Toones - BMI

4. Down By The River 9:13

5. The Losing End (When You're On) 4:03

6. Running Dry (Requiem For The Rockets) 5:30

7. Cowgirl In The Sand 10:30

Produced by David Briggs and Neil Young

Neil Young - Guitar
Danny Whitten - Guitar
Ralph Molina - Drums
Billy Talbot - Bass

"Round & Round" features Robin Lane
"Running Dry" features Bobby Notkoff on violin
Extra thanks to The Rockets

Engineer: David Briggs

Cover Photo: Frank Bez

Art Direction: Ed Thrasher



Released in the spring of 1969, Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere was Neil Young's second solo album, his first collaboration with his legendary backing band Crazy Horse, and an offering that contained three of his most memorable songs: "Cinnamon Girl," "Down By The River," and "Cowgirl In The Sand."

The son of a well-known Canadian sports journalist, Young first began performing as a folk artist in Toronto and New York in the early '60s. Moving to Los Angeles, he became a founding member of Buffalo Springfield in 1966, writing some of the group's best-known material, including "Broken Arrow," "I Am A Child" and "Mr. Soul." After the group broke up in 1968, Young went on to record his debut solo album, Neil Young, released in early 1969.

While cutting his first LP, Young met a West Coast band called the Rockets, consisting of drummer Ralph Molina, bassist Billy Talbot and guitarist Danny Whitten. He renamed the group Crazy Horse and recruited them for his next album.

Produced by Young and David Briggs, Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere was recorded in two weeks. The album featured seven original cuts and was built around the extended musical interplay of Crazy Horse and Young. "Round & Round (It Won't Be Long)" featured vocals by Robin Lane, later to front her own band, the Chartbusters.

Shortly after the release of Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere, Young was asked to join Crosby, Stills & Nash, and spent the next year dividing his time between that group and Crazy Horse.

All selections written by Neil Young
All selections published by Cotillion Music, Inc./Broken Arrow Music Pub. Co - BMI, except as indicated.


Back to Neil Young's Main Page
Back to

Website Builder