Welcome To AlbumLinerNotes.com
"The #1 Archive of Liner Notes in the World!"

Your Subtitle text
Something New (1964)
Capitol Records
CDP 7243 8 66876 2 3
(CDP 7243 8 66878 2 1)

The Beatles

Here is the third great Beatles album for Capitol. And needless to say it's wonderful in the very special and exclusively marvelous Beatles way! Here are the latest, greatest new Beatles hits the boys have come up with since their first two phenomenal Capitol albums. All but two (including five hits from the picture) are written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, the two busy Beatles who just keep on turning out smash songs not only for their own foursome but for other singers as well. One of the most popular is Komm, Gib Mir Deine Hand, the German-language version the boys made of their sensational Capitol hit, I Want To Hold Your Hand.

And now the Beatles are movie stars! The four great Liverpool guys who've made so many worldwide headlines you wouldn't think they get any more famous have made a motion picture that is sure to be a smash hit in the farthest flung corners of the globe. And here in this album are five hit vocals from that movie, United Artists' A Hard Day's Night, which is, of course, the Beatles' first! Now their fans can see John, George, Paul and Ringo giant-size on the screen and play the big hits from the picture on their HiFi and Stereo sets between trips to the movies

Produced in England by George Martin and in the U.S.A. with the assistance of Dave Dexter, Jr.

1. I’ll Cry Instead
2. Things We Said Today
3. Any Time At All
4. When I Get Home
5. Slow Down
6. Matchbox
7. Tell Me Why
8. And I Love Her
9. I’m Happy Just To Dance With You
10. If I Fell
11. Komm, Gib Mir Deine Hand (I Want To Hold Your Hand)

12. I’ll Cry Instead
13. Things We Said Today
14. Any Time At All
15. When I Get Home
16. Slow Down
17. Matchbox
18. Tell Me Why
19. And I Love Her
20. I’m Happy Just To Dance With You
21. If I Fell
22. Komm, Gib Mir Deine Hand (I Want To Hold Your Hand)

Remastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound, New York.

All songs written by John Lennon/Paul McCartney, published by Sony/ATV Tunes LLC (BMI) / EMI Blackwood Music (BMI) except "Komm, Gibb Mir Deine Hand (I Want To Hold Your Hand)" published by Songs of Universal, Inc., (BMI); "Slow Down" written by Larry Williams, published by ARC Music Corporation (BMI) / Larina Music (BMI); and "Matchbox" written by Carl Perkins, published by WREN Music Co., OBO Carl Perkins Music (BMI)

Capitol Records is a Capitol Music label (p) 1963, 1964 EMI Records Ltd., under exclusive license to Capitol Records, Inc. This compilation (P) 2004 Capitol Records Inc., © 1964, 2004 Apple Records Ltd., under exclusive license to Capitol Records, Inc. 1750 N. Vine Street, Hollywood, CA 90028. All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized Duplication is a Violation of Applicable Laws. Printed in U.S.A.

All images (C) Apple Corps Ltd EXCEPT photo pages 25, 38, 44 provided by Capitol Records, Inc., photo page 36 (C) 1964 SEPS. Licensed by Curtis Publishing, Indianapolis, IN. All rights reserved. www.curtispublishing.com; photo page 47 - (C) 2004 VNU Business Media, Inc. Reprinted with permission from Billboard.

Introductory text by Mark Lewisohn
Design and Art direction Wherefore Art?
Original Album sleeves courtesy of Chip Madinger.

Website Builder