Welcome To AlbumLinerNotes.com
"The #1 Archive of Liner Notes in the World!"

Celebrating Our Shared Musical Heritage

Wincing The Night Away

To purchase this recording from Amazon.com, click here: Wincing the Night Away

The Shins
Wincing The Night Away

Sub Pop Records
SPCD 705

1. Sleeping Lessons

2. Australia

3. Pam Berry

4. Phantom Limb

5. Sealegs

6. Red Rabbits

7. Turn On Me

8. Black Wave

9. Spilt Needles

10. Girl Sailor

11. A Comet Appears


Produced by James Mercer and Joe Chiccarelli
Mixed by Joe Chiccarelli
Additional Production on Australia, Girl Soldier, and Phantom Limb by Phil Ek.
Engineered by Sean Flora, Hiro Ninagawa, Brian Deck and Lars Fox.

Recorded at Supernatural Sound, Oregon City, OR; The Aural Apothecary, Portland, OR; and Avast! 2 in Seattle, WA.
Mastered by Emily Lazar and Sarah Register at The Lodge, NYC.
Design and Illustration by Robert Mercer.

The Shins are:

James Mercer - Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Synthesizers, Ukulele, Banjo, Cat Piano, Percussion, Beat and MIDI Programming
Marty Crandall - Synthesizers, Organ, Bass, Percussion
Dave Hernandez - Lead Guitar
Jesse Sandoval - Drums

With additional musicians:

Chris Funk - Lap Steel on Red Rabbits, Lap Steel, Hammered Dulcimer and Bouzouki on A Comet Appears (appears courtesy of Capitol Records)
Eric Johnson - Backing vocals and piano on Girl Sailor
Anita Robinson - Backing vocals on Phantom Limb and Turn On Me (appears courtesy of Viva Voce c/o Barsuk Records and Full Time Hobby)
Paloma Griffin - Violin on Red Rabbits
Niels Gallaway - French Horn on A Comet Appears

Additional Assistance provided by: Jason McGerr, Marisa Kula, Chris Jones, Bob Stark, Brian Lowe, Brian Vibberts, Kendra Lynn, Wes Johnson, Pete Tewes.

Without whom ... Andrea, Andy Kotowicz, Audio Technica, Big Business, C. Adams, Carly Starr, Chris Jacobs, David Weise, Dennis Fitzgerald, Droo at Hazelwood, Electro Harmonics, Elyse, Felix Brenner, Gibson Guitars, Greg Westall, Ian Montone, Jackpot Studios, James Hall, Jeffrey Daking, Josh Gibson, J.P., Kevin at Cha Cha Silverlake, Kung Fu Bakery, Lucho, M-Audio, Matt Zivich, Megan Jasper, Michele Leo, Mojave Audio, Nalin, Old Town Music, Paul Montone, Robin Taylor, Royer Microphones, Russell Warby, Scott Bradford, Sheila, Sophia, Steve Berlin, Steve Manning, Stuart Meyer, Sue Busch, everyone at Sub Pop, Tiffany Steffens, Universal Audio, Wendy Robinson, Zack Reinig, and our families.

The Shins are exclusively managed worldwide by Ian Montone at Monotone, Inc.

All songs James Mercer, Lettuce Flavored (BMI)

(C) (P) 2007 Sub Pop Records. Sub Pop is a registered trademark of Sub Pop Records, PO Box 20367, Seattle, WA 98102.


Back to The Shins main page
Back to top

Website Builder